AFC Announcements

David B. Johnson Wins Best-in-Show

The Canadian Woodcarving Championships have been held annually since 2001 in Hamilton, Ontario. This competition is growing in leaps and bounds with the objective to ultimately replace the former Canadian Championships held in Toronto until 1987. In January 2004, the competition saw close to 500 carvings in its four levels: Novice, Intermediate, Open and Masters.

Novel Workshop by Julie Chapman

The first-ever workshop of its kind

Siegrists recognized by Miniature Artists of America

Miniature Artists of America is the first invitational organization to honor outstanding practitioners of contemporary American miniature art. Signature
members are chosen from the ranks of award winners in major U.S. non-profit miniature exhibits. Other top professional candidates may be nominated by three Signature Members and elected after a jury review of their works. No more than ten candidates are selected in a given year. The Siegrists are two of them this year.

Passing the Torch at the Helm of the SAA

On Jan 1, 2004 Leslie Delgyer takes over as President of the prestigious Society of Animal Artists. She takes over from Francis Sweet who has had three very successful years at the helm of the Society. We wish him all the best in his return to the pursuit of his artwork. Francis has been a member of the WNAG for over three years now and has been a major supporter of our Group.

Marie Heerkens' Field Guide to Mushrooms

The Field Guide to Mushrooms has just been published as an update to the earlier William Thomas book titled Field Book of Common Mushrooms. It is revised and updated with the photographs and drawings of Marie Heerkens.

This 138 page full-color book is available in paperback/spiral bound and is published by Main Streer, a division of Sterling Publishing Co. Inc. ISBN 1-4027-0696-0 .

The book includes topics such as recipes for cooking, glossarry, Foray lists and uses 138 photographs and 12 pen and ink drawings by Marie.

Dumas is Three Time Winner of OFAH Artist of the Year

The Artist of the Year Program sponsored by the Ontario Federation of Anglers and Hunters began in 1992. Michael Dumas became the first artist to receive this honour, and when he was eligible again five years later he became the first artist to take the award twice. Being named as the 2004 Artist of the Year for an unprecedented third time puts Dumas in a class of his own and reflects the strong following he has in this organization.

Bruce Krucke Shares Southern African Trip Experiences

The many letters - 108 in total, from Bruce Kruckes trip to southern Africa are now all available on line from her personal website .

Wonderful images from the experience are shared with visitors and the images of some common and rather exotic wildlife is shared with visitors.

WNAG Now Over 200 Members

With the recent acceptance of an invitation to join the Group by SAA member, Chapel, the WNAG has surpassed the 200 members mark.

Recently an invitation was extended to members of the Society of Animal Artists (SAA) to join the Web based WNAG. Over 80 artists have responded and are in the process of building their web site on the WNAG. Jeffrey Whiting, the creator of the WNAG website and the Director of the Group is also a member of the SAA.

© Copyright 2019 Artists for Conservation Foundation, Inc. All rights reserved. "Artists for Conservation", "AFC" and the butterfly logo are registered trademarks of Artists for Conservation Foundation, Inc. AFC International Foundation is a registered charity in Canada (860891761 RR 0001).